1 Week Sample Meal Plan

Last week, I mentioned how I strategically grocery shop. This week, I’ll detail a sample list and meal plan for how I go about 5 days worth of cooking!

I’ve included meat in this week (contrarily to my tip that it’s way cheaper to not buy meat) and I did two grocery runs. I had on hand: peanut butter, salsa, quinoa, oats, frozen peas/corn, chicken stock, canned tomatoes,  other pantry items.

Market Basket

Whole Foods

  1. Bananas
  2. Kale
  3. Chicken Sausage
  4. Eggs – I usually splurge on organic eggs
  5. Onion
  6. Tomato
  7. Sweet Potato
  8. Salad Greens

 

  1. Ground Beef – on SALE!
  2. Avocados – on SALE!
  3. Onion
  4. Cauliflower
  5. Zucchini
  6. Yukon Gold Potato
  7. Mushrooms

 

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

Green Smoothie

Green Smoothie Frittata Oats w/ Banana & PB Green Smoothie

Frittata & Salad

Frittata & Salad

Bolognese w/ Zucchini Noodles

Frittata & Salad

Shepherd’s Pie

Mexican Bowl w/ Sweet Potato & Quinoa

Bolognese w/ Zucchini Noodles

Dinner Out! 

Shepherd’s Pie 

 Whatever’s Left!

On Sunday before the Super Bowl (woo, Patriots!) I made a frittata that would be a great lunch/breakfast during the week. I paired it with a salad and homemade vinaigrette for lunch at work, but eventually even the yummiest of meals get old. I knew I had plans on Wednesday night, and a friend was coming over Thursday so I wanted to make something special. I purchased ingredients to make a Shepherd’s Pie for some comfort food during the blizzard that’s fast approaching. Between grain bowls, eggs, and avocados I can fill in the meals that I didn’t plan. They’re also mostly balanced with veggies, grains and protein.

I didn’t account for snacks here, which are an essential part of my day as well. Usually I have a couple oranges on hand, or nuts that I can portion out during the work day.  It definitely takes practice, and for someone who thoroughly enjoys grocery shopping I usually end up purchasing extra goodies no matter what.

Leave a Reply

