2 Green Smoothie Recipes

IMG_1775.jpg

I still prefer to eat my food, not drink it, but there’s something to be said about quick, on-the-go smoothies I can sip while driving to work. Once or twice a week it’s a nice change after oatmeal and eggs, which can get a bit monotonous. Smoothies will always be the easiest way to pack in nutrients, and feels like an incredibly wholesome start to the day.

I try not to include ridiculously expensive powders and who-knows-what ingredients, but I went to Cambridge Natural over the weekend to experiment with a couple changes to my tried and true green smoothie.

-Blender: I use a Nutribullet and I’m in desperate need for another (it’s loud, dirty, and the motor isn’t working great). I have to wait until both my roommates are awake to use it. If you have suggestions, let me know!

Matcha Green Smoothie: I love the caffeine included in this smoothie for mornings, and it’s not too ridiculously grassy-tasting.

  • 1/2 frozen, ripe banana
  • 1 cup spinach or kale (tear leaves off thick stem)
  • 1 cup unsweetened nut milk – I’m a bit obsessed with Califia Farms Almond Milk 
  • 1 tsp matcha powder
  • 1/4 tsp spirulina
  • 2 ice cubes and water to thin to desired consistency

 

Tropical Green Smoothie: This option’s a bit sweeter and great for summer. The cucumber is hydrating, while the ginger and lime makes it crisp and refreshing.

  • 1/2 cup frozen mango
  • 2 inch chunk of cucumber
  • 1 cup spinach or kale
  • 1 cup unsweetened nut milk – coconut is a great option here
  • 1/2 tsp grated ginger (or small knob if your blender can handle it)
  • 1/2 tsp ground turmeric
  • Juice of 1/2 lime
  • 2 ice cubs and water to thin to desired consistency
Leave a Reply

